hej.link

Beacons vs Linktree: prices, fees and who each is for

Both have a free plan and both let you sell. Linktree is the simpler page with 0% fees from $15 a month. Beacons gives more for free, takes 9% of sales until you pay $30, and bundles email and a media kit.

The answer in one paragraph

Pick Linktree if you want the most familiar page, a clean free plan, and no platform fee on sales once you pay $15 a month. Pick Beacons if you want more without paying (a media kit, email sends, selling from the free plan) and you accept a 9% fee, or if you want your own domain for $10 a month.

Prices and fees below are from Linktree’s pricing page and Beacons’ pricing page, as of 6 October 2026.

Prices side by side

Linktree Beacons
Free plan Yes Yes
First paid plan Starter, $8 a month ($6 billed annually) Creator, $10 a month ($100 a year)
Middle plan Pro, $15 a month ($12 billed annually) Creator Plus, $30 a month ($300 a year)
Top plan Premium, $35 a month ($30 billed annually) Creator Max, $100 a month ($900 a year)
Free trial of paid plans 7 days on Pro and Premium Not stated

Seller fees: the part that costs real money

If you sell anything, this matters more than the subscription.

Linktree Beacons
Free plan Fee applies. Percentage not printed on the pricing page 9%
Cheapest plan with 0% Pro, $15 a month Creator Plus, $30 a month
Card processing Stripe: 2.9% + $0.30 per purchase Not stated on the pricing page

Some sums, using those numbers:

  • Selling $100 a month. Beacons Free costs you $9. Linktree Pro costs $15. Beacons is cheaper.
  • Selling $170 a month. Beacons’ 9% is $15.30. The two are level.
  • Selling $500 a month. Beacons Free or Creator takes $45. Linktree Pro is still $15, and Beacons Creator Plus is $30.

So below roughly $170 a month in sales, Beacons’ free plan is the cheaper way to sell. Above it, Linktree Pro is cheaper than either Beacons option.

What you get without paying

Linktree Free: unlimited basic links, and email and phone sign-ups. One featured link. Linktree’s logo stays on the page.

Beacons Free: a link-in-bio page, a media kit that updates daily, unlimited digital products at the 9% fee, affiliate links, 50 email sends a month, Instagram auto-DM replies, a one-page website and a daily allowance of AI credits.

Beacons gives away more. Whether that is better depends on whether you want it: a page with eight tools attached is more to set up and more to keep an eye on.

What paying adds

Linktree. Starter ($8) adds unlimited featured links, link scheduling and 90 days of analytics. Pro ($15) removes Linktree’s branding, opens custom designs and mailing list integrations, and sets seller fees to 0%. Premium ($35) adds all-time analytics, data export, social post scheduling and Instagram auto-replies.

Beacons. Creator ($10) adds a free custom domain and 500 email sends. Creator Plus ($30) removes the seller fee and adds courses with video hosting, memberships, buy-now-pay-later and unlimited email. Creator Max ($100) adds onboarding, priority support and extras like an NFC card.

Who should pick which

Linktree, if:

  • You mainly need a tidy page of links that everyone recognises.
  • You sell more than about $170 a month and want 0% fees for $15.
  • You want to schedule social posts from the same tool (Premium).

Beacons, if:

  • You want a custom domain for the least money.
  • You pitch brands and want a media kit.
  • You want email sends, courses or memberships in the same place.
  • You sell a little and would rather pay 9% than a subscription.

A third option, if your page sells products

We make hej.link, so read this part knowing that.

Both tools above treat selling as one feature among many. hej.link is built around it: a link-in-bio page where a block can be real products from a Shopify store, with a cart on the page and checkout in the store, or files you sell through your own Stripe account. It is $15 a month, one plan, with no seller fee.

What it lacks is most of the rest: no free plan, no custom domain, no media kit, no email sends, no scheduling. And it is in early preview, so today you can only reserve your name.

The longer versions: hej.link as a Linktree alternative and as a Beacons alternative.

Questions

Is Beacons or Linktree free?

Both have a free plan. Linktree's free plan covers unlimited basic links and email and phone sign-ups. Beacons' free plan adds a media kit, digital product sales with a 9% fee, and 50 email sends a month.

Which is cheaper, Beacons or Linktree?

For a page with your own domain, Beacons is cheaper at $10 a month. For selling with no platform fee, Linktree is cheaper: 0% fees start on Pro at $15 a month, while Beacons charges 9% until Creator Plus at $30 a month.

Does Linktree or Beacons take a cut of sales?

Beacons takes 9% on its Free and Creator plans and 0% from Creator Plus. Linktree says fees vary by plan and advertises 0% on Pro and Premium. Stripe's processing fee applies on top with both.

Which is better for selling digital products?

If you sell little, Beacons' free plan lets you start with no subscription. Once you sell more than about $170 a month, Linktree Pro at $15 with 0% fees costs less than Beacons' 9%.

Which has better analytics?

Linktree keeps 90 days on Starter, a year on Pro and all-time on Premium. Beacons lists real-time analytics on every plan, including free. The reports themselves are not compared here.

Is there an alternative to both?

If your page needs to sell Shopify products with a cart, hej.link does that for $15 a month with no seller fee. It is in early preview, with a waitlist.